Login to the Home Network

System / FRITZ!Box Users / Login to the Home Network

You can set up a password for access to the FRITZ!Box user interface from the home network. With this password you protect the user interface from unauthorized access.

There are two ways to assign a password:

  • Every FRITZ!Box user logs in with his own user name and own password.
  • All FRITZ!Box users enter a shared password to log in to the user interface.

Login with FRITZ!Box user name and password

In this method every FRITZ!Box user logs in with a user name of his own user and a password of his own. This method allows you to configure different access and settings options for different users.

FRITZ!Box users are set up on the "FRITZ!Box Users" tab in the "FRITZ!Password" area.

Login with the FRITZ!Box password

In this login method all FRITZ!Box users enter a shared password to log in to the user interface. This method is preferable if you are the only user of the FRITZ!Box or the only user that configures the FRITZ!Box.

assigning a password

  1. Enter a password of your choice in the "FRITZ!Box password" field.

    Be sure to keep the FRITZ!Box password in a safe place.

  2. Click "Apply" to save your settings.

Password protection is now enabled.

Changing the Password

  1. Enter a new password in the "FRITZ!Box password" field.
  2. Click "Apply" to save your settings.

The password has been changed.

Removing Password Protection

  1. Select the setting "No login (not recommended)".
  2. Click "Apply" to save your settings.

Password protection now has been removed.

Logging Off the User Interface

For security reasons, we recommend that you log off the FRITZ!Box user interface before you surf the net.

  • Click on the current user in the link bar, and then on the "Log off" entry in the drop-down menu.

    The FRITZ!Box login window appears.

Logging Off the User Interface

Logging Off the User Interface

Now you have successfully logged off the FRITZ!Box user interface.

Forgot password to open the user interface?

The FRITZ!Box offers you two ways to access the user interface when you have forgotten your password:

  • "Forgot Password" Push Service

    The "Forgot Password" push service sends you an access link to the specified e-mail address if you have forgotten your password. With this link you again can access the FRITZ!Box user interface. 

  • Restoring FRITZ!Box to its factory settings

    After resetting the FRITZ!Box to its factory settings you can open the FRITZ!Box user interface without a password.

    When the factory settings are restored, all of the settings you made in the FRITZ!Box are overwritten and the FRITZ!Box is returned to its default configuration.

No login (not recommended)

Why should you protect the user interface with a password?

When this setting is selected, FRITZ!Box users are not prompted to enter a password. The user interface of the FRITZ!Box is not protected.

  • all FRITZ!Box users can change all FRITZ!Box settings
  • external attacks on your FRITZ!Box may not be ruled out.

We strongly recommend that you set up password protection for the user interface.

When is the password for the user interface requested?

The password for the user interface is requested in the following situations:

  • when you want to open the user interface,
  • if you have not clicked in the user interface for longer than 10 minutes,
  • when you switch between the FRITZ!Box and FRITZ!NAS areas
  • when you cancel the editing of a FRITZ!Box user account
  • after you change the password.