On the "Reset" page you can restore the factory settings of the FRITZ!Box.
Restoring factory settings is useful if you would like to take the FRITZ!Box out of operation, for instance because you purchase a newer model of the FRITZ!Box or would like to dispose of the FRITZ!Box.
Note:Restoring factory settings is strongly recommended if you are planning to pass the FRITZ!Box on to another user.
What happens when the factory settings are loaded?
When the factory settings are restored, all of your personal settings are deleted and returned to their preset values. The installed version of FRITZ!OS remains intact. If you would like to keep your personal settings and data, note the following instructions and tips before restoring the factory settings.
Save your existing FRITZ!Box settings in a backup file. Open the "System / Save Settings" page in the user interface and follow the instructions on the "Save" tab.
We recommend saving the settings configured on your FRITZ!Box in a backup file. Using this file your individual settings can be restored in the same FRITZ!Box or in another FRITZ!Box of the same type. For more information, see the Saving Settings instructions.
Adjusting Network Settings
If you use individual IP settings in your FRITZ!Box, these will be deleted when the factory settings are loaded.
For this reason, after loading the factory settings you must check the network settings of your computer and adapt them in order to be able to access the FRITZ!Box again.
Adjusting the WLAN Key
If you use an individual wireless network key, when you load the factory settings this key will be deleted and replaced with the default value of the FRITZ!Box. This has the effect that you can no longer access the FRITZ!Box via your wireless adapter.
For this reason, after loading the factory settings you must enter the default value of the wireless network key of the FRITZ!Box in the settings of your wireless adapter in order to be able to access the FRITZ!Box.
Saving Data from Internal Memory
If received faxes or answering machine messages are located on the internal memory of the FRITZ!Box, these will be lost.
You have the option, however, of saving the data from internal memory; on your computer or on another storage medium connected to the FRITZ!Box.
Note:Data saved on a USB storage device connected to the FRITZ!Box remain intact.
Loading Factory Settings
Click the "Load Factory Settings" button to restore the factory settings to the FRITZ!Box. When the factory settings are loaded, all of your personal settings are deleted and reset to their preconfigured values. The installed version of FRITZ!OS remains intact.